Finalists from the 2017 Poetry Slam

Submitted by sam.mcgrath on Fri, 05/05/2017 - 18:03

Today, 60 students met in front of their peers and parents to perform poems for our annual poetry slam. And they were great. Some poems were from famous poets and some were poems that the students themselves have written. This was a great year for the poetry slam and the contestants all did an amazing job, not only reciting a memorized poem, but performing it as well.

Ms. Howard organized the event and she decided to mix things up this year and invited three local songwriters to come to our school and act as impartial judges. We appreciate them taking time out of their busy schedules to listen to our students. I believe they had as much fun as the students themselves did.

Just as in years past, ten students were chosen to go on to represent Salem Junior in the district slam on May 11th. The top 20 students recieved a student-designed poetry slam t-shirt and the top 3 students also recieved a gift certificate. 

Here are the top ten students who will go on to the district slam on May 11th.

  1. Miles Booth
  2. Annaliese Eddington
  3. Michael Langton
  4. Cassidy Haight
  5. McKenzie Graham
  6. Afton Hayfield
  7. Rachael Concoby
  8. Marian Smith
  9. Olivia Christensen
  10. Jared Kearns